External Links

We accept no responsibility
for the content or
accessibility of
external sites.

International Tours 1934-1998

Test Matches:

DateTouring TeamMatchesResult 
1934-35England to Australia3Drawn 1 England 2
1934-35England to New Zealand1Won by England
1937Australia to England3Drawn 1 England 1 Australia 1
1948-49England to Australia3Drawn 2 Australia 1
1948-49England to New Zealand1England 1
1951Australia to England3Drawn 1 England 1 Australia 1
1954New Zealand to England3Drawn 2 England 1
1957New Zealand to England2Drawn 2
1957-58England to New Zealand2Drawn 2
1957-58England to Australia4Drawn 3 1 Abandoned
1960-61England to South Africa4Drawn 3 England 1
1963Australia to England3Drawn 2 England 1
1966New Zealand to England3Drawn 3
1968-69England to Australia3Drawn 3
1968-69England to New Zealand3Drawn 1 England 2
1976Australia to England3Drawn 3
1979West Indies to England3Drawn 1 England 2
1984New Zealand to England3Drawn 3
1984-85England to Australia5Drawn 2 Australia 2 England 1
1986India to England3Drawn 3
1987Australia to England3Drawn 2 Australia 1
1991-92England to New Zealand3Drawn 2 England 1
1991-92England to Australia1Won by Australia
1995-96England to India3Drawn 2 England 1
1996New Zealand to England3Drawn 3
1998Australia to England3Drawn 3
First Ashes Test (see below)

Official England One-Day Internationals:

DateTouring TeamMatchesResult 
1976Australia to England3England won 2-1
1979West Indies to England3Drawn 1 match abandoned
1984New Zealand to England3England won 3-0
1984-85England to Australia3Australia won 3-0
1986India to England3England won 3-0
1987Australia to England3Drawn 1 match abandoned
1989European Cup Denmark3Won by England
1990European Cup - England4Won by England
1991European Cup - Netherlands4Won by England
1990England to Ireland2England won 2-0
1991-92Triangular Series - New Zealand5Australia won 2 England won 1
 England and Australia to New Zealand New Zealand won 1 No Result 1 Abandoned 1
1995European Cup4Won by England
1995-96England to India5India won 3-2
1996New Zealand to England3New Zealand won 3-0
1997South Africa to England5England won 2-0 1 No Result 1 Abandoned
1998Australia to England5Australia won 5-0

World Cups:

1973England6England win
1978India3Australia win
1982New Zealand13Australia win
1988Australia9Australia win
1993England8England win
1997India7Australia win

The Women's Ashes

The Ashes, or the Women's Ashes, is the Women's Test Cricket Series between England and Australia. The Series was first played in 1934 and was the first ever Women's Test Series. It only became officially known as the Ashes in 1998 when the Series was drawn.

A ceremony took place in the Harrison Gardens at Lord's Cricket Ground on Monday the 20th July 1998 when a miniature bat, signed by the English and Australian Women's Cricket Squads, together with a copy of the WCA Constitution and Rules Book, were burnt and some of the ashes were subsequently sealed in this Trophy, from then to be known as "The Ashes".

The Trophy and the replica were designed and made by Brian Hodges of Twigfolly Trophies of Littlehampton, Sussex, from a 300 year old English Yew Tree which had been blown down in the 1987 gales.

The Trophy was presented by Mrs. Norma Izard OBE, the last President of the Women's Cricket Association (1994-1998), in commemoration of the dissolution of the Association which had been formed in 1926.

The Trophy will remain at Lord's Cricket Ground whilst the replica will be held by the winning Country.

Under the auspices of the WCA (Women's Cricket Association) a total of 11 Series have been played. There is no set length of the Series with it varying between 1 and 5 Tests.











  Copyright © 2012-2023 Women's Cricket Associates